Tags

, ,

A few things to discuss today. First, I looked up the books I need for the two classes I am taking in the spring semester. Literature of Popular Culture – Detective Stories and The American Novel. Combined, I will be reading 22 books this semester. It feels overwhelming. Really overwhelming. It will be two books per week.

Here is the list:

Detective Stories – The Big Sleep, The Maltese Falcon, And Then There Were None, Death and the Good Life, Blood Shot, The Dante Club, The Longman Anthology of Detective Stories, Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency

American Novel – The Scarlet Letter, Moby Dick, The Great Gatsby, Beloved, Catch-22, Slaughterhouse Five, The Awakening, Love Medicine, The Sound and The Fury, Invisible Man, All the Pretty Horses, Their Eyes Were Watching God, Huckleberry Finn, Portrait of a Lady

I’m a little scared.I’m a pretty fast reader but when reading fast, you can lose some details. We’ll see how it goes.

Today, I did manage words on the novel Twelve New Things (working title). I got stuck on a bit of dialogue but I received some great advice from another writer friend. “Who wants a piece of advice about writing a book? Perfection is the enemy of the first draft. You can edit crap; you can’t edit nothing.” So I put in some placeholder info and moved on. As of today, TNT is 5,000 words long in this incarnation. I’m excited! My two main characters, Eliot and Matt, have just met each other and I feel like I’m making great progress.

Looking forward to keeping up the good work this year!

