Tags

,

I am currently working on a short story for an open call. The call is for a steampunk romance and I knew I just had to try. Right now, the story is around 5k. It can only be up to 12k. Which, I think will work. I’m just under halfway word count wise so I think I’ll be able to pull it off. I’m excited!

Over the course of the spring semester, I did write a 5k short detective story. I submitted it to Ellery Queen and was rejected. Awww. That’s okay though. I’m hoping to find a home for it, but detective literature is such a genre niche it’s hard to find anyone accepting submissions. If I can’t find a home for it, I will publish it here.

In other news, I’m reading the Maze Runner series right now since one of my favorite actors was just cast as the lead. I’m into the second book and while I enjoy post apocalyptic stories and the premise of this book, I’m not so much a fan of the writing style and the endless descriptions of the main character’s emotions. I find the supporting cast (Newt, Minho, Chuck) much more interesting than I do Thomas.  But I am enjoying the ideas enough to keep going.

