Tags

I was tagged by the awesome Maggie Kavanagh on her blog to answer these questions. So, here I go.

1) What am I working on right now?

Well, I have actually just finished two projects. I finished the sequel to Clockwork Horizon – called Clockwork Bargain – and subbed it to DSP last month. I finished a short called Not Quite 1776 for an anthology. I just did my first revision of Sweat and Smoke which is due out in June.

My next project in the works, which I swear I’m going to start writing any day now, is a story about an arranged fairy marriage and how one of the fairies runs away to the human world to have one last hurrah. Yep. It’s going to something fun and silly and sexy.

And I’m working on my long novel Road to Ruin which will be done hopefully by the summer. That one is a long angst fest which is taking me a while to get rolling in. I love it though and I hope to finish it before the end of spring.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

This is a loaded question and to be honest, I’m not quite sure. I’ll answer it like Maggie did, and tell you what I make sure to include when I write. I love humor. I love things that are funny. I love characters that are human, who make mistakes, big ones and little ones, and deal with them or avoid dealing with them. I love LOVE that is real, filled with laughter and tears and bad decisions and good ones too. I’m a romantic at heart, so I like it when characters fall in love despite themselves and then want to do something about it. And even in my stories in alternate universes, like the steampunk ones or this upcoming supernatural one, it’s important to me that the characters feel real. And in being real, that means the humorous stuff. I don’t know about you guys, but funny things happen to me on the daily, be it my kids, or my own human failings, and maybe I’m just that person who laughs at inappropriate things (totally am that person) but it’s not real if there isn’t humor.

3) Why do I write what I do?

Because I like it and I am fairly competent at it. πŸ™‚ Seriously. I like to write what I like to read.

4) How does my writing process work?

I have two ways that I write. The first is the painstakingly outlined story that I write scene by scene and moment by moment and it’s already all in my head and in my little black book I carry around and I can keep the momentum going by finishing a scene and moving onto the next one. This type of writing means that most of my revising and editing is SPAG and not details because they already exist in my head.

The second way is the fast and furious I DON’T KNOW WHERE THIS IS GOING BUT I AM INSPIRED way that usually means quick and high word counts but lots of revisions to make the story coherent.

Both ways work for me. They both have their strengths and they both have some pitfalls. It just depends on the story that I want to tell and how I want to tell it and how inspired I am. Twelve Tasks and The Trouble with Elves were highly outlined. Clockwork Horizon, Sweat and Smoke, and Not Quite 1776 were not. The fairy story exists in bits and pieces in my brain but doesn’t have a solid outline (which may be the reason I’m stalling on starting).

Looking at it, I think I do better with an outline for longer works and maybe more go-with-the-flow for shorter pieces.

Image

My little black graph book of ideas/scenes. This is what I have for the arranged marriage fairy story.

Other writers:

I am tagging Jenni Michaels the author of The Storyteller and Marian. Her blog is this way!

